CulturalDC's Mobile Art Gallery: Ongoing Exhibit

< BACK TO CALENDAR VIEW

Repeats every week every Sunday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Fri Feb 01 2019 except Thu Nov 22 2018, Fri Nov 23 2018, Sat Nov 24 2018, Sun Nov 25 2018, Sat Dec 22 2018, Sun Dec 23 2018, Mon Dec 24 2018, Tue Dec 25 2018, Wed Dec 26 2018, Thu Dec 27 2018, Fri Dec 28 2018, Sat Dec 29 2018, Sun Dec 30 2018, Mon Dec 31 2018, Tue Jan 01 2019.
Nov 17 | 11:00 AM

CulturalDC's Mobile Art Gallery: Ongoing Exhibit

Milian Park
499 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Event Description: 

CulturalDC's Mobile Art Gallery exhibit: Nara Park’s ‘Enduring Marks’

CulturalDC's Mobile Art Gallery, a 40-foot shipping container transformed into a solar powered exhibition space, is located in MVT's Milian Park. The gallery is now showcasing the work of Nara Park, one of the area’s most prominent rising young artists. Park is a sculptor and structural artist living and working in Washington, DC whose artwork was recently acquired by The Phillips Collection. In the 'Enduring Marks' exhibit Park will present textile prints of digital collages exploring the imprints of childhood. She combines the images of her childhood artworks and writings from age five to eight with photographs of rock surfaces and mosses as if a child has left the marks on stone. Her work is based on the idea of marks on stones comes from ancient cave paintings that serve as the oldest records of human existence. In the exhibit, guests will see Park's images from her early life experiences, as Park is interested in how early childhood experiences have lasting emotional and psychological effects and influence to shape who we are. 

 

When:

On-Going Exhibit Schedule: November 17 - February 1, Wednesdays - Sundays, 11-7pm

Closed: November 22 - 25 and December 23 - January 1 

 

Where: Milian Park, 499 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC

 

Fee: Free and open to all, walk-ins welcome!